Policy Council Elects New Officers

posted 10/25/22 -- Head Start Policy Council seated new officers last month when a group of parents came together from across the LCCAA program.

“We know that parents are their child’s first teachers,” said Head Start Director Shauna Matelski, Ed.D. “It’s important to have a group of parents coming together to make decisions for their child’s program.”

“It gives them an opportunity to help us make decisions that are going to be right for the program and for their child,” she added. “So Head Start has always placed an emphasis on the Parent Policy Council.”

Margaret Hartman (pictured) who represents Hopkins Locke on the Council will serve another year as President of the Policy Council. Other officers are Vice President Zamaria Bohannon, Secretary Genesis Rodriguez and Vice Secretary Bryce Eichholz, all from Hopkins Locke.

Other members from Hopkins Locke are Amirah Bryant, Damaris Guevara, Ashley Perez and Alexis Rodriguez. Millie Harris and Alexandria Wilhelm represent Firelands, while Sierra Cobbs, Karen Deskins and Melinda Mathews represent Griswold.

Melanie Wiseman returns for a second term from LaGrange. Wellington is represented by Rebecca Huff, Shiann Marcum and Sumer Roberts.