Policy Council Elections Held

posted 10/17/23 -- Officers and representatives have been elected for the 2023-24 Policy Council.

Head Start requires convening of a Parent Policy Council for each program throughout the country. Parents are encouraged to participate to help make decisions about the program.

Parents are elected at the beginning of each year during each center’s parent meetings. Policy Council met Sept. 18 and elected officers for the year.

Melinda Matthews, a parent from Griswold, was elected President. As president, Matthews also has a seat on the LCCAA Board of Directors.

Coreasa Portis, a parent from Central Plaza, was elected Vice President. Secretary will be Genesis Rodriguez and Chrystine Masarik will be Asst. Secretary. Both are from Hopkins-Locke.

Other members are Tabatha Smith from Central Plaza, Kaitln Fisher from Firelands, Roberto Hoyle and Veronica Belen from Hopkins-Locke, Tana Panter from LaGrange and Precious Lara from Wellington.

Alternates are Amanda Bruce from Firelands and the following Hopkins-Locke parents: Damaris Guevara, Jalisa Campbell and Nateisha Fitzgerald.